Umra By Road - Dubai to Makkah

Maddie

Good day everyone. It's that time of the year when most of us think to travel overland. And many of us also plan Umra by road.
so here's my contribution to this subject (my favorite).

I have been doing this run since 1999 with Family.
Umra usually opens beginning of December, end of Safar in Lunar Hijri year.

Following is the Dua (supplication) when you undertake a journey.

دعاء السفر : الله اكبر, الله اكبر, الله اكبر, سبحان الذي سخر لنا هذا وما كنا له مقرنين , وانا الى ربنا لمنقلبون , اللهم انا نسالك في سفرنا هذا البر والتقوى , ومن العمل ما ترضى, اللهم هون علينا سفرنا هذا , واطوا عنا بعده ,اللهم انت الصاحب في السفر , والخليفه في الاهل ,اللهم اني اعوذ بك من وعثاء السفر , وكآبة المنظر ,وسوء المنقلب في المال والاهل

1- You have to apply for Umra Visa from a Haj and Umra Agent - try Bilad Al Sham Transport in Sharjah 065730366 behind King Faisal Mosque for visa or ALTA travel agency in Dubai (Clock Tower) 04 2945666 - Mr. Hamza. No hotel booking required by them.

Documents needed: Original Passport, 2 photos white background, UAE ID, NOC from Sponsor and Vaccination Card.

2- Vehicle - If you are registered in Dubai - you will need a Carnet Du Passage (tripticket) from the Automobile and Touring Club. In Dubai its as follows - EMSF Dubai Building - From Almulla Plaza towards Century Mall, first signal, turn right, it will be on your left. its a traditional looking sand brown building - access from the side. Then, you need to take a Tourism certificate from RTA.

3- All other Emirates, simply proceed to the Traffic Department to issue the tourism certificate.

Documents needed: Original Registration card (Mulkia), Driving License, UAE ID, Passport Copy, NOC from Bank (if vehicle is mortgaged). Fees (Payable in Cash): 500 deposit (refunded after your return via cheque AFTER you hand over the carnet), 350 for the Carnet (no one ever looks for it), 80 for the Tourism Certificate - Total 930.